Project Half Marathon – The Knee Says No

on

Yeah. The original idea was to run a half marathon by the end of the month May. Didn’t happen. Let’s not talk about Waffle who did it with a wide smile and no sweat! I ended up moving the target date till the end of September. Just couldn’t get there in May. Unfair.

In the meanwhile, the target has been postponed even more. My knee has started to budge. It has gotten worse now, after we returned from Finland. There was not much running involved during the 3 weeks of holiday. At home I tried to get back to the normal running routine;  The same speeds, the same distances, since they felt rather easy back then before the holiday.

That was a mistake. The first run stopped at 5 km, my right knee could not go any longer. A sharp pain on the outer side forced me to end the wobbling short. It was irritating, everything else felt so good, except for the knee. Apparently I had made my way quickly to the ever so common too fast, too soon -situation and caused myself a runner’s knee. (Insert large pot of ice cream here, to kill the frustration.) Actually, this should not have come as a surprise, the same knee has been angry at me while hiking, too. And it has always been a bit loose and wobbly.

So, time for a roll back. Whoa, I was hardly able to push through a loop of 10 km, and now I am rolling back, starting from the bottom and doing it all by the book. I have to admit, before my runs, I was neglecting the warm-ups rather badly. I have to put some extra focus on those, to get the tendons and joints warm before putting too much strain on them. I also have to put some effort into regulating the speed. That is going to be a challenge now, that I could do faster runs physically, apart from the knee. I think, settling down to 6:45 min – 7:15 min per kilometer should do.

On top of moderating the running speeds and focusing on the warm-up, there needs to be some muscle maintenance happening too; stretching and strengthening, some extra focus on the muscles supporting the knee. I have acquired a torturing devise, also known as foam roller, to help me deal with the  jamming thigh and butt muscles. Thankfully, the internet is full of all sorts of instructions on how to deal with a runner’s knee!

So, so far I have missed all the targets I have set. Just have to swallow the disappointment and wobble on! I might not get to my goal of running the half marathon as fast as some others, but I am not going to stop trying either!

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. S says:

    Aika hurja tavoite sulla on alunperin ollutkin! Hienoa, että osaat lähteä treeniin uudella asenteella ja maltilla. Tsemppiä ja iloa juoksuihin!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GoneHiking says:

      Olihan se aika kunnianhimoista aluksi, sitä kuvittelee joskus olevansa kaikkivoipa. Kantapää(tai polvi) on kuitenkin hyvä oppimaan, luulisin 🙂

      Kiitos tsempistä! sitä aina tarvitaan!

      Like

  2. I put a whole year of running on hold because of plantar facitis. It sucks. So I’m essentially starting over again. I feel for you. I know what you are going through. But hang in there. It’ll be worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GoneHiking says:

      Oh, a year is a long time to be away from a thing you love doing! Hope you are happy and back to running again!

      Perseverance, is needed here, I hope I have enough of it! 🙂 Thank you for the encouragement!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

