Project Half Marathon – More Gadgets and the Ugly Face of Truth

Remember the activity tracker I bought for this project of running? The Polar A360? Mother on my wrist, commanding and nagging me to move etc.?

It is gone now, I assume it is leading an underground criminal organisation somewhere in the metro tunnels of Brussels. It slipped from my wrist one afternoon when I left work and has never been seen since. Polar might want to develop the wristband into something little sturdier.

After a brief grieving period, I bought a new gadget. I am still staying faithful to Polar, but upgrading the level of gadget. We are going smart with the M600, a smart watch. Blimey.

The watch has its own Android operating system, it is synced with my phone, Strava, Google Fit and of course Polar Flow. it also gives out more data and more accurate data. The basic things of course; activity levels, heart rate, distances etc. This thing also counts my steps per minute while running and it has built-in GPS, so my distances and speeds are recorded by a floating thing in space.

With the accurate data came the horrible truth with its ugly face.

Previously I had tracked my runs with the A360 and the crappy GPS of my old phone, which is on the same level of high-tech as a Russian potato. They gave positively satisfying info of me, running like a dream at 10 km/h for kilometres and kilometres on end.

Mwhahaha, said the new smart watch as it crumbled my sweet, sweet dreams. I barely can do 6 minutes 40 on a kilometre, which is 9 km/h. Ok, ok, now that I say it, it is not that bad at all, but it does dampen the moral a bit.

Polar training data
Gotta be rather happy with the steady heart rate though!

On top of the discovery of my real slowness, there has been some illness, some knee-related trouble and so forth, so I can tell you, there is no half marathon happening here in the end of May.

Waffle on the other hand is doing great. The damned miracle of a runner. He is almost there, running at around 11 km/h for distances of over 18 km. Just a little extra squeeze and he is done with the challenge.

He is not stopping there though. He wants to continue, until he breaks the limit of 25 km, then 30 km, and if that doesn’t hurt too bad, he’ll go on until a complete marathon. I’ll just keep on sacrificing things to the sacred spirits of running, so that my knees won’t let me down. If you have good tips on what those spirits like, I am eager to hear!

So here we have it. Is there anybody else running?

Leave a Reply

