Project Half Marathon – Halfway goals

In February we started this silliness of training for a half marathon.  It seemed hopeless in the beginning, I had not run in ages and Waffle was completely against the idea of running all together.

Well, a month or two down the road and we are still running. Waffle is learning to like it, even though he refuses to admit it too loudly. He is actually doing a lot better than anyone imagined.

Waffle runs about twice a week. A shorter run during the week, usually on Wednesdays of Thursdays, with the aim of increasing his running speed. He runs now well below 6 minutes  per kilometer.  He takes distance training on Sundays, running every Sunday a wee bit further. Just last week he has increased the running distance to 14 km. Incredible, I would say. I am also very jealous; my progress is a lot slower.

I then, on the other hand. I have been following the Polar 21 km running programme rather meticulously. I have a workout everyday.  4 days a week I run, from easy jog to intervals. On Sundays, just like Waffle, I do a long run. On top of that I have mobility and strength exercises planned through out the week.

Currently I am at the steady pace of about 6:30 minutes per kilometre (slow like snail, I know), last Sunday I managed to go on for 10,5 kilometers, even though it was a very hot day for so early in the spring. I was hurried on by an angrily hissing goose, a large thanks  for my achievement goes to him / her. But gees or not, I am afraid I am behind schedule, so the coming weeks I am going to have to push up the game.

all time summary

The gear then, it has not really been upgraded. The shoes are the same, just a bit more mud on them, and I am still happily running with my activity tracker. We are both now also using the free version of Strava, which is great help in tracking the routes and speeds we are doing. Also you see quite some other runners from your area. (Polar Flow has that feature too!)

The only minor complaint I have are my trail running shoes from New Balance, they cause my foot to tense up after a bit longer wobble. But I can always switch to the road shoes, so it is not a major issue.

It has been surprisingly easy to find time for all this. After all the 30 minutes to an hour per day is not such a massive sacrifice and the positive out come of seeing yourself get fit is keeping the motivation up.  And we are very happy, that nothing is broken, and everybody’s knees are holding up.

Against plenty of the odds, we might actually survive this challenge with dignity!

Parts One and Two of the running related posts!

Leave a Reply

