Unexpected guests and a cake

on

The Daily Prompt this time describes just about the worst night mare a Finn could ever have, in Unexpected Guests.


 

The moment I saw them, just sitting there, munching on that cake. I was furious. It was my cake! For me to munch! In all my anger I went up to them, apologized that I bothered them, and went on to the living room sofa in order to go through the mail I had grabbed from the porch while coming in. Why didn’t the cake munchers pick it up? Huh?! Coming in like that, not bothering even to pick up the mail. Phah!

Mail was mainly rubbish and bills, as always, and the pile was quickly sorted. So I walked back to the dining room. Where a second piece of cake had appeared to the plates. My anger was all but going away. So I asked if either one of them wanted some coffee. Two very assertive nods followed, so I picked my espresso pan and started preparing coffee.

How dare they ask for coffee too!? Who are they? Why did they come to me, out of all people? My personal space and privacy was violated, brutally!

Coffee pot started to rattle and I killed the flame from under it and searched for cups. I asked if they wanted some sugar with the coffee. One nod followed. Maybe milk too? Another nod came from the other side of the table. How dare they demand such service?!

Cups clinked a little when I lay them on the table, and were received with contempt nodding and small smiles of gratitude.  I sat myself to the chair too, after fetching an extra cup of coffee. I pulled the cake plate towards me in a demonstrative manner, -surely they must now notice, that I was not pleased with such surprise guests!- and sliced a thick  piece for myself. There you have it! You invaders!

I heard a slurping sound. Someone was at least enjoying my coffee. And my cake! My cake it should have been. I had planned to spend quite some nice moments with it and my sofa and my TV. Someone was violating the very essence of my lazy afternoon!

“This is number three, right?” The other one asked. I nodded to confirm, and focused back to my cup.

The coffee ran out. I decided to save the cake, took it off the table and stowed it away into the fridge. There! That should teach them how to treat my  privacy! Cake eaters! I heard the coffee cups being dropped into the kitchen sink and someone was also wiping the table. My table! Friendly though it was.

I turned back to the dining table, only to find it empty and clean. No strangers around. From the hallway I heard the sound of a shutting door. Seems that the notorious coffee munchers had left. I hurried to the window, to look out to the street, and see which direction they were walking to. All I saw were two cats sitting on the fence, looking back.

Hmph, cats. I thought, and helped myself for another slice of cake.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. rogershipp says:

    Enjoyed the tale!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GoneHiking says:

      Thank you! Good to hear 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

